WHY ‘FOCUS’ IS THE KEY TO YOUR SUCCESS || THE SUCCESS SERIES

on

7e0cb47d-c930-4374-887b-80bbcaa0c4cc_560_420

download

If you are anything like me you will relate to what I am about to share with you.

Each time I want to do something new or pursue a new habit or a goal I get so fired up and want to do everything at once, after all I can do all things through Jesus Christ who strengthens me. J see what I did there hahahahahahahahaha.

We all remember just the other day on 31st December 2016 we wrote our new year’s resolutions. Maybe yours had 15 items you want to achieve. Mine would have around 20 things.

I kid you not, each 1st of every new year I would immediately start working on my new year’s resolutions. On the first week I was on FIRE, on the second week I was doing just a couple by the time January was coming to an end I had long forgotten about my resolutions’ and goals. Sounds familiar?

This cycle honestly really bothered me and in 2016 I did not write any resolutions determined to find a better way to achieve my goals. This year as I have already shared with you WHY HAVING A VISION BOARD IS POWERFUL || 2017 GOALS. I wrote down my life’s strategic plan on MY VISION BOARD.

Therefore my goals in life have been spread out from 1 year to 10 years. This is some legit serious and deep stuff. #amgoingforthekill.

Now based on my usual habit of over excitement in doing everything at once, I embarked on my year’s goals with the same way i always did it. Remember;

‘Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.’

Albert Einstein

I mean that is crazy. This is why this year I am replacing my bad habits with good ones YOUR REPUTATION IS FOUNDED IN YOUR HABITS || THE SUCCESS SERIES.

See when you are going after success and have set for yourself goals, you cannot perform all of them at once. What happens when you do so is that the mind and body get overwhelmed, your lack of total attention in one task bears average results and finally you end up feeling stuck and frustrated mostly.

‘Without focus you will be running round in circles that will tire you.’

Ruth Nzioka

The hard truth I have had to learn is I cannot do all things at once, I can only pursue one goal at each given time, remain focused in it, excel and then move on to the next goal.

‘Success means narrowing down and focusing on one thing, not being scattered all over the map.’

St. John writes.

Once a person focuses on one thing at a time the quality of their work improves and ironically get done with it quicker than their expected. This is because all your energy is focused on it and have great clarity of thought and direction. The bonus obviously is your get rid of stress.

fddc34080a17e10103f9f874c76a811f

Okay, so how then do we practically implement focus in our lives?

Practical Solutions

You may decide to focus your attention in two ways that has worked for me:

a) On a particular good habit that you want to adopt;

For instance, “I will strive to finish all the work assigned to me by the end of each business day without fail” OR “I will take at least 8 glasses of water each day” OR “I will tell my wife I love and appreciate her each day instead of saying harsh words.”

b) A specific goal

For example, if one of your goals is to expand your network, you may decide that you will focus on attending seminars, networking forums, reaching out to potentially great networks or even organizing your own networking forum on a simple scale.

Strategy

You may decide to focus on a goal or habit week by week or month by month depending on your needs. This would mean therefore each new week or month you have a new goal or habit that you are focusing on.

The next step is entirely up to you TAKE ACTION. All the best as you walk toward your success. God bless you all.

images

Picture credit: Pinterest,hplyrik.com,keywordsuggest.org

Leave a Reply

