THE ART OF HAVING A THANKFUL HEART || GOOD HABITS 2017

f4a49a701be935677859d0fef1e00075

“Count your blessings name them one by one,

Count your blessings see what God has done,

Count your blessings name them one by one.

Count it will surprise you what the Lord has done.”

It is one thing to sing a song and another to have a truly thankful heart when you reflect upon your life.

The one mystery that I have never understood is how our hearts are determinedly bound to only count our sorrows despite the many blessings surrounding us.

Psalms 103: 2 “Bless the Lord O my soul and forget not all His benefits.”

Our sinful nature tells us we are entitled to God’s free gifts and in fact demands of it. We think when we wake up in the morning, we deserve to be alive. When we receive our new job, it is our right.

images-14

The honest truth is all we receive is because of God’s goodness. A verse that made this clear for me is,

James 1:17 “Whatever is GOOD and PERFECT comes down to us from God our Father, who created all the lights in the heavens. He never changes or casts a shifting shadow.”

If God would not so lovingly give us these things and blessings we would never ever have them.

Psalms 103:5 “He fills my life with good things….”

I have had a bad habit of counting my sorrows. Recently I got challenged to make a change that I would love to share with you all in the spirit of adopting good habits for 2017.

images-17

Adopting a new habit takes a deliberate choice to make the change. For me it was to deliberately give thanks in each new day. Naming each good thing one by one, literally.

The first time I did this it was based on the year 2016. I wrote each and every single thing that I could remember. To my surprise the blessings were truly much more than my sorrows. Mind you I could not remember all. Why had I never thought of this before?

For 2017, I took out a special notebook and decided I would purposefully write down each and every single blessing and good thing I receive each day. Each time a negative thought like “I do not have the job of my dreams yet” comes to my mind I ask what blessing am I blind to and realize “Despite not having that job, there is no single day our Lord Jesus has never supplied my needs”.

Dear reader you know when this book will come in handy? When times get truly difficult and the only thing you can see is the worst case scenario. In these times take out that thanksgiving book (As for me I carry it around with me) and remember each and every single blessing and good thing that you have received from Our Father in Heaven.

1 Thessalonians 5:18 “In EVERYTHING give thanks for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.”

Devil “YOU ARE A LIAR!” even in my worst I will sing praises and give thanks to my Father in Heaven.

Why should I be grateful anyway?

Well, the story goes that, when the Israelites’ were going to the Promised Land, instead of being thankful for all the Lord God had done for them, all they did was COMPLAIN and be UNGRATEFUL. A journey that should have taken 40 days took 40 years and not even all got to see the Promised Land.

Joshua 5:6 “For the sons of Israel walked forty years in the wilderness, until all the nation, that is, the men of war who came out of Egypt, perished because they did not listen to the voice of the LORD, to whom the LORD had sworn that He would not let them see the land which the LORD had sworn to their fathers to give us, a land flowing with milk and honey.

Could it be, when WE remain ungrateful we lock up your own bigger blessings and delay what elevation we could have received sooner?

Kindly read this CONSEQUENCES OF AN UNGRATEFUL HEART.

God bless you all and remember a thankful heart is appealing to God and gives Him glory and honour.

Picture credit: thedailyglitter blog,theheartmadn blog, represent the teens blog and pinterest.

Leave a Reply

