THE LONG WAIT

girl-sitting-in-thoughts-at-sunset-sea-side-beach-image (1)

A while back I wrote a piece about trusting God in drought. One of the many questions that one asks themselves in this period is “How much longer?” “How long till I see all your promises for me in my life?”

For the ones who have been here, you know how tiring this wait can be, each day praying hopefully, maybe today will be that day. Only for the sun to set on the same note it does every other day. 😦

Each night as I lay in my bed, in the quiet night, I forever engage God in my honest thoughts. “Lord Jesus I feel my life is late. Life is passing by and I am not part of that advancement or move. Lord surely how much longer till I see what You have promised?” I ask.

The Lord God in His loving patience always listens to me quietly as I proceed to tell Him the sincere truth of my heart. I am not always strong, courageous, in high spirits, motivated or even patient in this wait. My human strength always fails me even in my best effort to remain my best as I wait on Him.

The Lord God understands my human frailty. He sees the weak heart that I have. A heart that does not have strength to take all that has to come its way before His time. Yet He never gets tired to remind me, He is my strength always.

One cold night when sleep had escaped me and none of my 10 relaxing tactics were working, I did what I seem to do best, cry, my heart out to Him. Is it just me, but sometimes tears seem to relay a better message than words can?

As Jesus looked on, understanding my discouragement at that point, He gently reassured me “TRUST. All these things are in my hands. Nothing can oppose My will.” I looked at Him and said honestly “I do trust in You sweet Jesus, kindly grant me grace and peace as I wait on You.” He so lovingly went on to say “You cannot see, as I see…You cannot comfort as I can, so may I do all these for you?” You cannot help but smile when Jesus speaks He truly is the sweetest person and God. Forever patient with our limitations.

I don’t know what keeps you going in your long wait but I will share with you mine. The Word and promises of God. There reaches a time when you have to trust in God’s unfailing and never changing character even when you can’t see it. It is by is by faith. He is a faithful and true God. There is nothing that I have held tighter than this, in this time.

My assurance, trust and confidence is in One that never fails and in His time, makes all things beautiful for truly as He says in Isaiah 55:8-9 “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the Lord. “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.”

 It is this HOPE that I hold on to for dear life each and every waking moment of my life as I give thanks to Him even for such a time as this for it is beautiful still. Ecclesiastes 3:11 “He has made everything beautiful in its time…”

08c75368aec3ea5f4cb6486abda0fd3a

May God bless you all as you find peace and hope in God’s faithful and unchanging character in the season of your life.

Picture credit: www.pixhome.blogspot.com,www,pinterest.com

Leave a Reply

