TRUSTING GOD IN DROUGHT

836435-bigthumbnail

Many times when things are flowing smoothly, one does not usually bother to stop and ask whether they truly trust God. Other times each prayer request you present to the Father in heaven is answered almost at once. Such times are amazing and one wishes the trend would go on forever. If you ask someone at such a time if they trust God they will most surely answer in the positive because all is well and seems to be working out.

What happens when you pray and the Lord takes not just a little bit longer to answer but pretty long? What of the days God is present but silent? What of the days everything seems to fall apart and you do not understand why? What of the days your life does not make sense? What do you do then? It is at this time your trust in God is put to test.Harsh times always challenge everything we believe in.

I don’t know how many times in your life as a Christian you have experienced the great journey in the wilderness. The period in your life that feels like you are living right in the middle of the heat. I happen to be at such a time in my life.In some days i seem to be full of faith while in others I am still in perfect wonder. Will it ever happen to me? Other days I space out and ask all the crazy questions like is God really listening to me or has He God forbid, forgotten me? Does He even know my name? I mean it’s not like I am not praying or doing what I am required to, I am. Yet I find myself in the middle of a drought I do not understand. Other times I find myself asking what am I not doing right?

To my mind I know I am a child of the Most High God and think “surely my life should at least make sense and fall in place”. In this times the devil is fast in answering my questions. He mostly says the Lord God you love so much doesn’t seem to care for you that much,while in others I sit in silence and stare at God whom I cannot see with nothing to say. I guess all this displays how truly human we all are, not because we want to defy Him but because we will never ever understand Him and all He does.

The truth is walking through the valley of the shadow of death is not pleasant. Every day I look forward to the day the journey will get finished. I don’t like the heat, I don’t like the drought or anything associated with it but I love the One walking with me.

Every day I tell Him I don’t like it but ask His will to be done anyway knowing, all for love I must keep walking through. Other days I cannot walk and just sit under a tree as I tell Him, “I really don’t want to go on like this”. He looks at me lovingly and says “I know. I am with you always” (Hebrews 13:5). Such days He does not force me to move forward but sits with me under that tree as He re-assures me of His great promises. Other times I cry heartily and in such He just comforts me as I lean on His shoulder. Other days I have nothing to say and we both sit in silence as we look up. When I do get my strength again to keep walking I tell Him with a lot of energy “Let’s do this!.” He usually smiles and we keep matching forward together.What a gentle Lord He is.

I have come to learn trusting in God in the worst of our circumstances is not easy because most of the times we do not understand why He is taking us through such. Yet His Word states “For My thoughts are not your thoughts, Nor are your ways My ways,” declares the LORD (Isaiah 55:8).We learn trying to understand the ‘why‘ in God’s ways is really a useless endeavor.All it does is cause us more turmoil.

When you finally quit trying to fight Him (I must say He is a big and strong God. I don’t know who can win against Him) the only option you are left with is to give up and let Him take control. The only comforting thought for me in all this is that God is good and has only good plans for us and nothing less(Jeremiah 29:11).He has not set out to cause us pain.In the end He always makes good of our pain.For now,all we can do is wait and watch in silent trust.  Let me share with you a precious verse that is keeping me going:

Jeremiah 17:7-8

“But blessed is the one who trusts in the Lord,

whose confidence is in him.

They will be like a tree planted by the water

that sends out its roots by the stream.

It does not fear WHEN HEAT COMES;

its leaves are always green.

It has no worries in A YEAR OF DROUGHT

and never fails to bear fruit.”

The Lord does not tell us that times will be rosy for those who trust Him. No! He tells us that the heat and drought will come but if we trust in Him we will never be overtaken by these times. So will, you go ahead and trust Him today?

Picture credit:www.cathcy.ro

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Bianka says:

    Thank you for that blog,it is truly hard to trust God during hard times but He is faithful to see you through every situation.He is always there for us.May His name always be praised and lifted high.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rnzioka1 says:

    Amen amen.I thank God He is faithful always.In the worst of situations when we don’t feel Him we can rest in His unchanging character.

    Like

Leave a Reply

